stop complaining.

by saracrolick

stop complaining

One thing I’m working on in my adulthood–other than rocking the shit out of red lipstick–is dissolving a deeply-engrained complaining habit.

Complaining, like any habit, is a learned behavior.

Complaining, like any habit, can be unlearned.

I reached critical mass at the end of last year (a huge reason for my social media moratorium) when I realized that everywhere I looked, every moment in which I listened closely (even when I monitored my own speech) I was being inundated with negative speak.

Everything and anything we can complain about, we do. And when there is nothing to complain about? We invent problems that aren’t real.

So where have I failed? Where do I falter?

Seven years ago I was diagnosed with an auto-immune disease that shook the very foundation of my being; in some people’s minds, I have a lot to complain about.

And I did. I wore this disease like a badge of honor, because my life was harder, sadder, scarier. I allowed myself to fall deeper, because on some level, I thought I had earned that right.

But I’m tired of carrying the weight of this illness, just like I’m tired of caring about bullshit. The path of least resistance is crowded–crowded mostly by people complaining about what could have or should have been, about what someone else could be or should be doing, about how their life somehow isn’t living up to their impossible standards.

And the terrible thing about complaining: it leads to more complaining.

So, I’m out.

I’m finished with dumbing myself down to a life of empty bitching. I’m reclaiming those precious pieces of this precious lifetime.

I would rather look around at this magic existence I have the privilege to call my LIFE and celebrate it; because I have so much more to be humbled by, to be grateful for, than any bullshit disease could ever take away from me.

I challenge you to get quiet–really quiet–for a 24hour stretch. Monitor the words you’re painting this world with, then choose the palette you’d truly LOVE to exist in.

Notice where you’re being unjustly cornered with other people’s negativity, then cut those people out.

It isn’t your job to carry the weight of other people’s “problems” any longer, but it is your job (and yours alone) to be responsible with what you send out into the world.

Stop complaining.

Do something.

Be free.

